top of page

What is Yoga?


Yoga is not just a form of exercise. It is an attempt at self- healing, health, and happiness. It is associated with one’s overall well-being, concentration, flexibility and strength and the balance of life.

There are 8 limbs of yoga:

  • ASANA: Performing physical exercise routines to keep the body toned.

  • PRANAYAMA: Developing control over the basic and vital life force- breathing.

  • DHYANA: Practicing single- pointed focus (meditation) and connecting with your spiritual self.

  • PRATYAHARA: Developing self- control over the five senses to prevent being taken for a ride by tempting sense objects.

  • DHARANA: Exercising intellectual control over the mind (emotions).

  • SAMADHI: Liberation.

  • YAMA: Performing within the rules of right social behavior.

  • NIYAMA: Following the rules of right personal conduct, right diet, and right lifestyle.

bottom of page